Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Yesterday I went to pick up my 2004 trailblazer from the shop. I had an estimate of $490.00 for a exhaust manifold repair (remove and replace and the part). They had also called and told me to pass inspection I would need all 4 rotors and brakes for an additional $537.00. So we're at $1,027.00. I told them of course to do the inspection and also change oil. When they called to tell me to pick it up 8 days later the bill was $1,577.13. I told them we would go over it when I got there because I never had a call to okay anyother charges. When I got there I was told that the estimate didn't mean anything and that since they had typed "this is just an estimate" on the paper it was meaningless. I said I beg to differ but instead of causing a huge fight I paid the bill and left. I am not denying the additional work was not done I'm very upset that they went ahead and did $500.00 additional work without prior approval. Do I have a leg to stand on here? Could I have told them that I was not paying it because it was not approved?


