Pennsylvania  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
4/23/01, 1:57 pm

Legal Question


When to file Bankcruptcy

As a reulst of a bitter divorce I am faced with some debts. They do not exceed $5000. It has been 6 1/2 years since the debts were turned over to collections. Is it worth it to file chapter 7 or will they just fall of after 7 years? This is what I have been told. I do not have the money to pay the debts and am getting no financial help from my ex husband. I was advised by co -workers it may be in my best interest to file chptr. 7, but if it takes 7 years to clear your credit , is it worth paying an attorney to file for me? It will be all i can handle to get together the money to pay a bankruptcy attorney. I really need advice!

Thank you,

--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search