Re: bankruptcy with multiple properties
As you may know, there are generally two types of bankruptcies for consumers, Chapter 7 and 13. The former is generally for those who simply require the elimination of unsecured debt such as credit cards. The latter is generally for those who have fallen behind in secured debt such as a mortgage. Chapter 13 allows you to repay any arrears over five years.
A bankruptcy protects just about all consumer assets. There is a $16,000.00 homestead exemption in your principal residence. The contents of your home, if any one item is not worth a great deal, are exempt up to $8,000.00. There are many other exemptions, as well.
An exemption is a dollar amount assigned to an asset so that, if a Trustee ( the person charged with liquidating assets) were to attempt to sell such an asset, he would have to pay the exemption amount to you. Since the stated exemptions usually cover the value of the assets, most consumer cases are determined to be "no asset". Thus, you simply obtain a discharge of your debt.
Although you referred to a business, unless you are incorporated, the business is actually you. If you filed a Schedule C on your 1040, you are a sole proprietorship. Thus, there would only be a need for one bankruptcy. Even if you had a corporation, it is not necessary to do a bankruptcy for that business which is no longer operating.
I have handled many bankruptcies involving multiple properties and an analysis of the equity and net gain or loss on each property is helpful to determine the best course of action. Sometimes, you may be able to sell a property with equity and/or keep others that may yield positive cash flow. The worst case scenario is that you simply file a Chapter 7 for yourself, allow the properties to go to sheriff's sale and obtain a fresh start. That, of course, assumes that your home has little or no equity after your exemption.
You should speak with experienced bankruptcy counsel as soon as possible to discuss all the ramifications.
I trust this has been helpful, but feel free to call or e-mail with further questions.