Pennsylvania | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Retirement Assets
After filing for bankrupcy, can retirement assest be touched by the courts? Can contributions still be made to qualified retirement plans?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Retirement Assets Prior to the Code being amended in 2005, IRAs were at risk. However, the Code now provides an exemption for most, if not all, retirement accounts.
Regarding contribution, you are only permitted to show as expenses those expenses necessary for your maintenance and support. The Third Circuit, which is the Court of Appeals just below the Supreme Court, has determined that such contributions are not necessary for your maintenance and support. So if you can contribute, and your other expenses leave you with little or no disposable income, you may qualify for Chapter 7.
I trust this answers your question, but feel free to call or E-mail me on a free initial basis.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Nahrgang & Associates, P.C.
Collegeville, PA
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Bodell, Bove', Grace & Van Horn. P.C.
Wilmington, DE
Questions Answered: 195
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Offices of Stanley Fudor
Cranberry Twp., PA
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-05
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Search Questions and Answers


