Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Copyright information
If I were to make a brochure to sell my product which promotes gun control and anti-violence, would it be permissable to list the names of famous people who have died due to such tragic incidents?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
Re: Copyright information In general, a "fact" cannot be copyrighted. So nobody could assert copyright to prevent an author from ascertaining certain facts, including who died from gunshot incidents, and then writing about it, as long as the author does not appropriate the copyrighted "expression" used by the source of the information.
Another factor to be considered are principles of law involving the "right of privacy" and, for famous people, the "right of publicity." Whether these rights are violated by a writing about gunshot deaths would depend on exactly what's said. In most instances I can imagine, I wouldn't think that the author would be violating any such rights. However, it might be wise to show your text to a lawyer before publishing it, if you have any questions in this regard. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Search Questions and Answers


