Pennsylvania  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/21/06, 2:09 pm

Legal Question


Can an individual sue for a corporation?

I used a contractor do plumbing work in my home. It's a long story, but I'm witholding payment to cover items he damaged in my home.

He has sued me in district court, basically small claims up to $8,000. The plumbing company that sued me is incorporated. But the law suit filed against me has only the president of the company as the plaintiff.

My contract is with XYZ Plumber INC. The president's name is on the contract as he signed it too, but all wording on the contract has the agreement between myself and the incorporated company.

Would it be a realistic defense for me to bring to the judge that I never made a contract with the plaintiff, that all contracts were made with xyz Plumbing INC?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search