Re: Leaving a Corporation PART I
PART I OF II
Dear Desperate:
The short answer to your questions is:
1. Your LLC is not dissolved for failure to hold annual meetings and issue shares;
2. You have control over your membership interest but probably cannot sell that interest; and,
3. Your partners cannot take your interest without providing you compensation – whether or not the LLC dissolves.
The detailed explanation is:
You first need to review your Certificate of Organization and Operating Agreement. The Certificate of Organization (Cert. of Org.) is the document used to form the LLC. It must contain the name of the LLC, the registered office and the name of the organizer.
Additionally, it must set forth the following options:
(1) whether the interest of a member is to be evidenced by the issuance of certificates of membership. (Essentially the same thing as a stock certificate in a corporation);
(2) whether management of the LLC is vested in a manager(s). If the Cert. of Org. does not state the LLC is to be managed by manager(s) then it is member managed. The distinction applies to who has the authority to bind the LLC. If the Cert. of Org. designates management by manager(s) then only the manager(s) have the authority to bind the LLC. If management is by members, then all members are presumed to have the authority to bind the LLC;
(3) Effective date of the LLC;
(4) is this LLC a restricted professional company;
(5) incorporation of other partnership law (see, manager v. member managed); and,
(6) any restriction on type of business for the LLC.
The Operating Agreement will contain all of the information as to the affairs of the company and conduct of business. For a Pa. LLC, this is the equivalent to a corporation’s bylaws. The provisions of the Op. Agr. cannot override a required provision of the Cert. of Org. Pursuant to 15 Pa. C.S. §8901, et seq., certain provisions must be in writing.
Some of those requirements for a writing are:
(1) any agreement that less then unanimous consent is needed to permit transfer of a membership interest (§8924);
(2) a promise of a member to make a contribution to the LLC (§8931(b)); and,
(3) any agreement that less then unanimous consent is needed to amended the Cert. of Org. (§8924).
David L. Bargeron