Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Liability for check signing
I am doing bookkeeping for a company where they want me to be an authorized check signer. I have heard that I could have considerable liability if I do this. What can you tell me about that?
Thank you
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Liability for check signing You are absolutely correct that the ability to sign checks for a business could give rise to liability on your part. That can happen in at least two ways.
If the company fails to pay withholding taxes for payroll, the check signers who had knowledge of such failure will likely be assessed for the tax. This is true even if the signer has no financial stake in the company.
The second issue arises if the company fails to pay its debts and the creditors assert personal liability. If the company is incorporated, the creditors will have to pierce the corporate veil. That means the corporate fiction will be disregarded and the owners will be personally liable. If the company is not incorporated, the owners are personally liable for all debts anyway.
The fact that you may be a signer could lead a court to conclude that you are indeed an owner or at least agreed to be responsible for paying the company's debts.
I trust this has been helpful, but feel free to call or e-mail with any questions on a free initial basis.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Search Questions and Answers


