Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Reselling Merchandise on ebay
I was laid off by my employer Dec 30th 2005. I contacted a sales agent still under contract to my employer and arranged to buy his sales samples which the agent bought and paid for at 50% off wholesale. I began selling them on ebay for 25% off wholesale AFTER 12/30/05. My old employer threatened to fire the sales agent for selling them to me, so the agent asked me to remove the unsold items from ebay and return the samples. Since I had not yet paid for them (we had a verbal agreement that I would pay him in 90 days), I complied with his request.
My ex employer then wrote me and told me that I was obligated to inform him of my intention and forbid the agent to sell me his samples. My question is this - is my ex employer allowed to do this? Was I obligated to inform him of my actions after I no longer worked for him?
One of the issues is that I was selling for less than the retail during my ex employer's customer's regular selling season. Is this an issue?
Thank you.


