Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Subpoena
Should I get a lawer when served with a subpoena?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
Re: Subpoena Maybe. But you didn't say what kind of subpoena it is.
If it's a Writ of Summons, then it means someone's filing a lawsuit against YOU. See a lawyer AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
But a Subpoena means that someone is seeking either your testimony, or certain papers you have custody of. Maybe you witnessed an accident. Maybe you're being investigated by the government. Maybe you have certain papers that other people need to prove a certain fact in a lawsuit that doesn't involve you. So ... it depends.
The subpoena should state the parties to the proceeding and identify the lawyer who's seeking your testimony. If you don't think from this information that you're likely to be "at risk" from testifying, you may as well contact the lawyer and find out as much about the proceeding as you can.
If, based on the names in the Subpoena or the information you get when you call the lawyer, you DO think there's a possibility that you'd be at any risk by testifying or producing (that is "disclosing") any requested papers, then by all means seek appropriate advice from your own lawyer.
In certain circumstances, your interests might be aligned with the party in a case who is opposite to the one that subpoenaed you. In that event, you might contact the lawyer for that opposite party and hear what she says. But keep in mind that her duty is to her client, not to you. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 618
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Search Questions and Answers


