Pennsylvania  |  Business Law

question bubble
8/14/10, 3:27 pm

Legal Question


Okay I understand that you could have a old entity from Pa recognized in NY under the same name as a church. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having the non-profit entity in both states?


question bubble
8/21/10, 11:21 am

Legal Answer


It is really not about advantages or disadvantages. If the church is operating in Pennsylvania and New York, then it must be registered in both states. If the church was started in Pennsylvania, then it is a domestic company; it will register in NY as a foreign company. You will file and pay taxes in both states. Churches pay taxes on non-religious activities, such as book sales. In addition, in Pennsylvania, churches must keep a record of all donations. I am not familiar with New York's record keeping requirements. If the entity is not long connected or operating in Pennsylvania, then I recommend dissolving the Pennsylvania entity. This will eliminate the tax reporting and filing requirements for Pennsylvania.

If you need more information, please contact me.

Sharmil McKee

Business Attorney

blog.mckeeoffice.com

Sharmil McKee

McKee Law Office 245 W. Allens Lane Philadelphia, PA 19119

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search