Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
Verbal agreement to use image in website- turned Ugly
I own a hair enhancement business.
I have posted 2 images of a client {a before and an after} to use in my website and saved the client over 85%. My website even shows many other of my clients' faces or just the backs of their hair without their faces.
Now this client is suing me because she is 'embarrassed' and that she says that she has never consented to her pictures being taken {liar}- even when we had a verbal agreement back in 2003.
After she left me just one nasty message 3 months ago, I immediately removed her pictures. And now, yesterday, I get a warning letter from her lawyer that she is taking me to court!
In my shop, I post a policy that clearly states all my good intentions. I am the kind of business who intends to make people happy and avoid litigations since I do run a 'one-man show'. I never meant no harm and I never caught her picture under hidden cameras. In fact, this client is even smiling for the camera in her {after} picture!
Opinions please, and also what do you think of me intending to countersue her for the over 85% monies I have saved her?
And was our verbal agreement enough?
Also was the policy on the wall enough?
Thank you.


