Pennsylvania | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
False Imprisonment
On July 9 2008, I went to the nearby supermarket where I have shopped for 18 years. I was in the dollar section of the store where they put discounted items that are discontinued. I had gone to the store to buy cat food, and when I saw Meow Mix cat food pouches and Sheba cans were marked 3 for a dollar with a red sticker(Sheba normally sells for $1.15 a can) I decided to buy all 10 cans of Sheba. I also put 12 pouches of Meow Mix in my basket. I then checked out. As I was leaving I was stopped by a man wearing a t-shirt and shorts who flashed a badge. At first I thought it was a joke until I saw the woman with him who I recognized as a manager. He told me to go into the room. He told me I had switched price tags, and then the woman said loudly'' There's no way Sheba sells for 3 for a dollar''. I was detained for almost an hour while the police came and they made me stay in the room while they checked the store shelves. The woman came back with the policeman and told the others that there were a lot more Meow Mix pouches on the shelf with the same stickers. The security guard said he saw me peeling labels off, but all I did was try to look under the label of 1 can to see what flavor. They told me I was free to go. I was so humiliated


