Pennsylvania | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
if i was to become pregnant at the age of 15 could my parents make me get an abortion by law?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Absolutely not! under any state law. You can make your own decision regarding the pregnancy. Choose carefully - keep the baby, adoption, abortion - the decision will stick with you and that fetus for the rest of your lives.
I am pro choice. I cried long and hard over having one abortion when I was 21 because I wanted to go to college, and a baby was not in my plan. I still think about it. It is not an easy decision to make. There are many families who may want to adopt your baby, if you are willing to have the baby, so maybe that is a solution. It is also possible to have your baby and make a life for yourself. You have to search your soul for a minute and determine what you want out of life and what you are willing to do to get it.
P.S. I did not have a surgical abortion but used the RU-486 pill which was approved in the US in the late 90's-early 2000's (since pulled off the US market). It has been used in Europe for decades. It works if you are 6 weeks or less pregnant and has no complications except for possible bleed-out, but the risk is minimal. It's a two-step process, and you do bleed a lot. Look at the pill rather than a uterine scraping if you possibly can.
If you have your baby, your parents cannot take him/her from you. Your baby and your body are your decision. The Supreme Court says so! |
Top Attorneys in PA
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Offices of Stanley Fudor
Cranberry Twp., PA
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-05
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Law Office of Charles Weiner
Bensalem, PA
Questions Answered: 85
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-02
Search Questions and Answers


