Pennsylvania | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Slander by Police
Las year my family and I moved to a small town where everyone knows everyone. While attending my son's football game last Sunday I intervened in an agrument between a teenager and an adult. This adult physically handled this teenager without cause and her mother is looking to press charges. Now I'm a witness. I gave my statement to the police but was informed by the teenagers mother that my statement was not included in the police report. She then asks the Police Officer to make an admenment to have my statement included. He then tells her that I have been arrested and that I am not a credible witness. I was given a Summary of Offense for Harrassment by this officer last year and rightfully pleaded ''not guilty'', charges were then dropped. Is a Summary of Offense the same as being arrested and does he have the right to share my personal information to others in my community?


