Pennsylvania | Technology Law
Legal Question
Laws concerning outsourcing
Hello, I go to Millersville University and am doing a research project on outsourcing software development to countries such as China and India. Does anybody know if there are any US laws governing this?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
Re: Laws concerning outsourcing Various laws impact the subject. An important consideration is whether any "technical data" is being exported from the United States in contravention of federal regulations.
Also, laws vary by country as to who owns the intellectual property rights in the work product.
A number of bills have been introduced in various states to prevent certain kinds of work from being outsourced, but I am not aware of any that have been enacted.
There are seminars for lawyers on the subject, and here is a brochure about a book available in law libraries or from its publisher, Aspen (Wolters Kluwer):
Scott on Outsourcing Law and Practice by Michael D. Scott
List Price: $210.00 ISBN: 0735561788 ISBN-13: 9780735561786 Format: Looseleaf Latest Supplemented Date: 2/7/2007 Automatic Supplementation More Info.
Description
You may be interested in the forthcoming course on outsourcing issues from Prof. Scott at the UCLA Extension Class - Outsourcing: The Legal and Business Issues
It's been going on for decades. But today, more firms than ever are using outsourcing to help cut costs, improve business processes, and focus on their core business. The most successful of these companies are the best informed.
Whether you're just beginning to investigate the feasibility of outsourcing arrangements or an old hand at negotiating and structuring these complex deals, there's a growing body of legal knowledge and "best practices" you need to consider before making critical outsourcing decisions. You'll find everything you need in the new Scott on Outsourcing Law and Practice, your one-stop legal guide to the outsourcing process.
Table of Contents: Introduction, Outsourcing Process, Domestic Outsourcing, Offshore Outsourcing, Intellectual Property Laws, Privacy and Security Laws and Regulations, Labor and Employment Issues, Litigation.
Appendices: Glossary, Bibliography, Federal Laws and Regulations, State Laws and Regulations, Forms |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Bodell, Bove', Grace & Van Horn. P.C.
Wilmington, DE
Questions Answered: 195
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Elman Technology Law, P.C.
Swarthmore, PA
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Duffy Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


