Pennsylvania  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
9/13/00, 10:44 am

Legal Question


Cashing a down payment without a purchase.

My Son left a down payment of $ 5.000 contingent on getting approved for 3.500 for a car.

The loan was not approved, so we went elsewhere.

When my son went to the bank he found his checking account empty as the previous dealer had cashed his check!?

We had a lot of trouble getting his money back.

Is there something on the books that says they could cash his check when he had purchased nothing?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search