Pennsylvania  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
6/22/07, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


test drive deposit still not refunded

I went to look at a car at a dealership. I wanted a mechanic to review this used car. They offered to let me drive it overnight if I gave them $100 security. I signed a paper saying it wasn't a purchase but a short term drive. They debited my atm card for $100. I returned the car the next day when the mechanic found it was most likely a flood vehicle. They were closing and couldn't credit my card at the time. I've been back 3 times for a refund of this deposit, they keep saying they will but can't at that time. I called, they promised to mail me a check because I was mad about driving back and forth for nothing. I still haven't gotten the check.

What recourse do I have? Not familiar with PA courts - criminal? civil? any?

I finally did buy a car from another dealership so I know that the dealer holding my security didn't have me do paperwork anything like the vehicle purchase paperwork.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search