Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Civil Suit Credit Card
I live in Philadelphia, PA. I am being sued in Montgomery County, PA. All papers were served by the Sheriff to an address in Montgomery County. When I contested this the lawyer for the Credit card company said since I had other credit card statements going to that address they could do this. First off that's what happens when you try to be nice. My sister needed to get a Dell credit card and asked if I could put it in my name but have it sent to her address, I agreed. Had I known something like this could happen I would have had it sent to my address. Second... I never knew papers could be served without the sheriff asking for one of us to sign in person or even if we lived at this address. Especially since my sister has had at least 8 borders living at that house. Any one of them could have signed for it and that is why we never received the notice. I never knew anything until I went to the bank to take out money and was told my account is on hold! Now we have this judgement against us which has forced us into bankruptcy. Is that true about the other credit statements? I mean nothing else goes to that address. And is her house in jeporady of having a lien put on it? I don't understand how a loophole like that can exist.


