Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
collection companies re credit card debt
i have many credit card debts which my husband and i are unable to pay. he lost his business which is why we were unable to pay them. also, we are making large payments due to several judgements made against him to avoid execution sales. the credit card collection companies are threatening me with garnishment of my wages, a lawsuit, selling my home(which is not paid for yet). i have explained our situation which does not seem to matter to them. i have offered repayment amounts and have been laughed at and told they could not possibly accept such a low amount. they have also been calling my place of employment and telling them they are going to garnish my wages. i have told them not to call me at work, but they do. what rights do i have? have the collection laws changed yet? do i have to worry about lawsuits and judgements and garnishment of wages, or losing my home because i have unsecured credit card debt?


