Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/11/03, 9:35 pm

Legal Question


Options in co-ownersip of auto, one party default

My girlfriend and I lived together for about 3 years. We purchased a car together, (both names are on loan and title). We have since ended the relationship. She has the car, but cannot afford the payments. The credit union that provided the loan just notified me that the payments are 2 months late, and that the amount increased because she did not provide proof of insurance. Can I legally take possession of the car (sole ownership), or get my name off of the loan/title. She absolutely refuses to cooperate and won't agree to anything I suggested. I am also very concerned about liability if an accident were to occur. The car will probably be repossessed in another month. I have read the contract and can't find anything to protect myself, and the credit union offers no help. The amount still owed on the loan is about $9,000. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search