Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Statute of Limitations on collection
In 2002 I bought magazines through a company. About a year later they called to re-up my subscriptions. I agreed but found that my credit card was being double charged. I called the company and asked to cancel the renewal of my magazines. After a lot of trouble I was told that it was canceled. A few days ago I get a call from that company stating that I now owe them money (500+). I have recieved nothing or heard nothing from them since about 2003. I have not recieved any magazines in years. Do they have a right to come back now and demand money? When I asked for them to send me an invoice they stated that I would have to pay a portion over the phone before they would do that. Being that it was over 4 years ago I have no information on who I talked to at that time. If and when they call back how would be the best way to handle this? Thanks.


