Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/21/08, 11:05 am

Legal Question


Statute of Limitations

What is the statute of limitations, on suing someone in small clames court for money they owe you? My fience was supposed to get half of the federal return that was filed by his soon to be,(legaly seperated) ex wife. A divorce has been started. They had a verbal agreement to file taxes joint and split the return amount. Of course the wife took all the money except for a minimal amount and refuses to talk about the rest of the money. She agreed verbaly pryor to filing of the return of the split. Now she wont talk about it with him, or says she is sick or cant discuss it at the time. How long can he wait to file a legal complaint? He want's to wait till the divorce is final so she signs the papers, which is 90 days. To me it seems like she commited teft by deception. What should he do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search