Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/12/02, 7:55 pm

Legal Question


unsecured judgment on credit report

I was convicted of a DUI last Feruary and ordered to, among other things, pay a fine of $1044 to Allegheny County. I had a year to pay the bill (It was referred to as a ''bill'') and had it paid within three months, which is more than timely. I recently received a copy of my Equifax Credit Report and saw that Allegheny County placed a ''filed judgment'' on my credit report for the amount of $1044. According to the Prothonotary's office, it was placed there because I owed them money; however, I was paying as agreed and do not see how this is accurate reporting. The judgment was not secured and from what I understand, it should not have been reported to Equifax since it was merely filed and not secured.

Can you please help me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search