Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Assaulted
I am a woman who was assaulted at my step daughters house 2 nights ago.My husband and I stopped in to see his daughter and she had a 17 y/o girl there along with an older (in his 20's) man there and a boy who was roughly 17 and afro American.The older man assaulted my husband and I. He sucker punched my husband and when he fell the man kicked him repeatedly in the head and body then threw him down a flight of stairs(roughly 10 to 15 steps). The man punched me in the face several times and I was bleeding bad. We managed to get our car and get home. We called the police. They took pictures of us both and arrested the man as he was on probation. I then went to the hospital and they said I had a fractured nose and most likely a slight concusion.The next day the 17 y/o girl called us and said she was the one that beat me up (she wasn't, but is trying to help her boyfriend that was arrested)and said that if we don't drop the assault charges on him that they are going to file racial slur charges against my husband because he called the 17 y/o boy a nigger during all of this.She said that my husband will go to jail and be put on probation because racial slurs are a misdemeaner2. Is this true and what should we do?


