Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/11/05, 4:13 pm

Legal Question


expert advice needed! simple assault, and harassment charges

I have been charged with simple assault, and harassment. I got into a

physical altercation with my ex's current girlfriend-what started as a yelling

match, turned into a shoving match, eventually, a fist fight. I've have

attended two mediations, resulting with her ''taking it to trial''. I feel we were

mutually responsible for the altercation. She lives in another state, where she

works as a correctional officer. He and I are litigants in a custody dispute.

she did not file criminal charges until four days after this alleged assault is

said to have taken place. The first time she pushed me, I told her you can

''kiss your career goodbye'', and that is why I believe she waited to file the

complaint. (To concoct a version of the altercation with me as the aggressor).

He is her only witness. The confrontation took place, at my home. She doesn't

even reside in my state, and is now attempting to minimize the part she

played as an active participant in the altercation, because she knows her

career is on the line. my neighbors & family were present, as it was a holiday.

how can I prove the altercation was mutual? Exactly what will the court take

into consideration?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search