Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/05/05, 11:52 am

Legal Question


Landlord cashed 2 unauthorized rent checks; witholds security deposit

In confusion of traveling, I issued two checks for rent two consecutive months of this year.

First instance: Landlord informed me that I gave him two checks for that month and stated he would destroy the second check. As I now know, he deposited both checks.

The following month, I made the same mistake. I was out of town for a trial for many months and lost track because of the expenses flowing through my bank account. He cashed the double rent payment again.

My rent was $1525 per month, so I overpaid him, and he willingly cashed 2x that, or $3050. This occurred approximately 6 months ago. I found this out when applying for a mortgage, and was going through my past rents paid. There were significant dollars flowing through my account during this period, (because of the travel) and I did not notice the double rent, 2x.

Also, he's not returned my security deposit (another $1525) after agreeing to in full following a inspection of the property. He called to confirm my new mailing address to send the deposit, but it has not arrived. I believe he was ''buying time'' with the phone call. It has been approximately 45 days since I vacated.

What is my recourse?

Thank you kindly,

Blaine


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search