Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
i am going to be in my first mock trial...im defending a man who shot a trooper while intoxicated and has no memory of it. he is mentally ill and has been for about 7 years now..how should i go about a defense
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terrence Valko |
Murder is a Specific Intent Crime. Develop the factual history that your client lacked the required intent to pull the trigger. He lacked mentation for _anything_ as he was not comprehending his surroundings. He had some other person in mind who had threatened to attack him over a woman, debt, Camaro, insult, sports bet or other insignificant thing.
The gun was someone else's. Show lack of deliberation and planning. (The accused did not go home, get a gun and return to the victim). He did not lie in wait. It was a crime of passion.
There was a mutually-consented fight that your guy won. The victim was large and strong and powerful. The citizen who survived the fight did so only by using reasonable force in his own self defense.
1 crime of passion reduces specific intent. 2 intoxication reflects diminished capacity required to formulate intent Get the hospital's record showing lack of orientation to space and time. Scan the police report for clues. 3 no brief history of violence 4 reputation for gentleness -- others know him to have walked away from confrontations, he opens the window to avoid killing bumble bees, he vomits at the sight of a dead mouse in a mousetrap . . . . 5 eyewitness testimony 6. google the McNaughton's Rule 7 look at Thomas Mauet on Trial Strategy
Good Luck
TV |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


