Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Preliminary\arraignment
Is a Preliminary hearing the same as a Arraignment ?. WHY would my lawyer want me to sign a waiver of Arraignment at the end of a Preliminary Hearing?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Brendan Campbell |
Re: Preliminary\arraignment After the preliminary hearing, the next step in a criminal case is the arraignment. The arraignment is a non-adversarial hearing, meaning no one wins or loses. The purpose is just to notify the defendant of the charges. 99% of the time this hearing is waived. By signing the waiver at the end of the preliminary hearing, your attorney was just trying to avoid you or him having to show up for the arraignment. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


