Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 10:57 pm

Legal Question


I was pulled over in Swatara Township PA for not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign. My vehicle was search. It was a consented search because the officer told me that if I didn't consent I would automatically lose my license. The police found a very small amount of marijuanna,rolling papers and a bowl. I was told I'm looking at 2 misdemeanors. That said, am I looking at any jail time for these offenses.


question bubble
11/16/09, 8:34 am

Legal Answer


You most likely are not looking at jail time. However, it depends on your criminal record. You will be charged with Possession of a small amount of marijuana and possession of paraphenalia. Both are misdemeanors. The police may have acted improperly by threatening you with the loss of license, therefore you may have a suppression issue. You should consult an attorney immediately.

Brendan Campbell

Solomon, Berschler, Warren, Schatz, Flood & Monaghan 522 Swede Street Norristown, PA 19401

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 9:42 am

Legal Answer


There are other issues as well. First, the search doesn't look like it passes muster as voluntary. Second, to prove that it was indeed marijuana they will need a lab report. Under the latest ruling of the US Supreme Court. They can't use that report unless the lab tech testifies.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me. The initial consultation is free.

{John}

John Davidson

Law Office of John A. Davidson 107 North Front Street Suite 117 Harrisburg, PA 17101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search