Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
4/10/03, 8:50 pm

Legal Question


Responsiblity without intent

A man is being a public nuisance, his actions are forcing citizens off the sidewalk and into the street; resulting in a woman being injured by a moving bicyclist. Is he at fault for her injuries? I am a criminal law student working on a paper and searching for a last minute confirmation to my approach to the defense.. any help would be greatly appreciated!


question bubble
4/16/03, 12:25 am

Legal Answer


Re: Responsiblity without intent

Your question indicates that you are a criminal law student. I assume you wish to determine if the man (Mr. Nuisance) committed a crime as a result of the woman's injury. 18 Pa.C.S.A. ยง303 defines culpability regarding the causal relationship between the act and result.

If the women's injury would not have occurred but for Mr. N.'s illegal conduct in forcing pedestrians into the street then Mr. N. is culpable. The defense is that the cyclist failed to act reasonably thereby causing the accident. Mr. N. could not control the cyclist and is not guilty.

David L. Bargeron

Unemployment Help Center P.O. Box 34 Allentown, PA 18105

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search