Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/21/06, 1:06 am

Does a summary offense stay on your record?

I'm 21 and was caught giving alcohol to a minor. The police officer gave me a huge break and only gave me a disorderly conduct, a summary offense. It was one that creates a hazardous or physically offensive condition. My fine was only $50 when I pled guilty. My question is does this stay on your record and if so for how long? I want to work in the government and was wondering if this will hinder my chances.

Thank You.

3 Answers


Answered on: 2/21/06, 2:22 am by Barbara C. Johnson

Re: Does a summary offense stay on your record?

It stays on your record forever. As a misdemeanor, however, it may be used against you for only five years.

Maybe you can get the record sealed...on the basis that your career will be harmed should it remain unsealed.

I haven't a clue as to what it will mean to a government recruiter.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson 6 Appletree Lane Andover, MA 01810-4102

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/21/06, 8:59 am by Jay Hochberg

Re: Does a summary offense stay on your record?

A summary offense will stay on your record. Because it is not "crimen falsi", or a crime of falsehood, it can never be used against you in a subsequent court case unless you try to introduce character evidence (at least, this is the law in Pennsylvania). As to Pennsylvania and Federal government jobs, you will not be automatically exluded from hiring as a matter of law. Whether an agency might not hire you due to the summary conviction, I can't predict that.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/21/06, 9:01 am by Marc V. Taiani

Re: Does a summary offense stay on your record?

Previous counsel must not have read your paragraph...but your summary offense will remain on your record, however, it is not a major reportable event. In other words, it should hurt your chances for receiving a government job, but it doesn't help either....if you had an attorney present you might have had all of the charges dropped, but in any event it isn't as bad as it could have been....best of luck.

Sincerely,

Marc V. Taiani, Esquire

www.Alleghenyattorneys.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


AAAL - Allegheny Attorneys At Law 1330 Old Freeport Road, Suite 3BF Pittsburgh, PA 15146

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search