Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
9/13/04, 10:10 am

Legal Question


Theft of merchandise - mail order

We are in Pennsylvania and customer is in North

Carolina.

Customer placed phone order - total $448.81.

We shipped COD via united parcel service.

Customer received order then stopped business

check.

customer said they returned merchandise via 1st class

mail but has no proof.

postmaster advises package size is too large to be

sent 1st class mail. would have to have been: priority or

express or parcel post and customer would receive

receipt showing service type, destination and rate.

customer has no receipt or proof they returned and we

haven't received merchandise.

question: Is this a criminal act and can I threaten

criminal action against customer for theft and fraud?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search