Pennsylvania  |  DUI Law

question bubble
7/27/04, 3:19 am

Legal Question


Underage drinking

If a pennsylvania resident under the age of 21 gets caught drinking in PA, what are the consequences and in what manner are the police supposed to handle the situation? Also, if given an underage citation, should an attorney be present at the hearing if pleading not guilty? I ask these questions because at a picnic over the weekend, and i do mean picnic, was ransacked by local police and 4 of us were under 21, two were not drinking and two were. I blew a .04, which i was not informed of, while the other minor was much higher and taken into custody for giving a false ID. I wasn't taken anywhere i was just given a citation and told by the officer to ''pleade not guilty and they would see what they could do, maybe a disorderly conduct.'' Im just confused because im not sure what the basis was for the get together getting ransacked in the manner it was as well as for the police to handle it in such a poor manner with the final note being i was realsed into the custody of another minor present at the party but who passed with a zero zero breathalizer. Its hard to find PA laws i just need a little advice to know what to do, but the worst part is i'm a senior in college with three months to go untill i turn 21.

Sincerely

stuck in PA


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search