Re: Fighting back on the school bus when the child is a repeat offender
Under the Pennsylvania Code, there are hearing requirements which accompany certain disciplinary actions the school may be considering. If they are considering a suspension, you will be given an informal hearing. If it is this type of hearing, you should receive written notice of the discipline being considered and the reasons for it. The student has the right to produce witnesses and question witnesses. The purpose of these informal hearings is to offer the student and his parents the opportunity to explain his behavior and why he may not deserve the discipline being considered.
Most of the specific regulations or rules regarding behavior and discipline (with the exception of weapons and drug issues) are made and imposed at the school board level. You should be able to check with your particular school district for more information.
In most localities, there are attorneys who are familiar with suspension and expulsion matters in their area. It would be advisable for you to consult with an experienced professional for advice directly related to your own district and circumstances.
Ilene Young, Esquire/ Civil & Family Practice
215-444-0445
Special Education Law & Advocacy
As you are not a client of our firm, discussion of the above topic is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Applicability of the legal principles discussed may differ substantially in individual situations, different counties, or in different states. If you have a specific concern or legal problem, do not rely on these materials. Be sure to seek the advice of an attorney about your particular situation and facts.