Pennsylvania  |  Elder Law

question bubble
1/01/06, 9:25 pm

Legal Question


helping with parents decisions

I am in CA and my parents are in an assisted living facility in PA. My mother has been diagnosed with the initial signs of Alzhimers, and my father is just ''slowed down'' considerably, Forgetful, etc. My parents aggree that it would be best if I took over all their finances and decisions of any importance.

My father has retirement income which pays for only 1/2 the monthly bill at the facility. After all his assets are used up the the facility will continue to care for him. I need to organize his assets and negotiate a plan with the care facility that will still leave them with funeral funds and some means of taking care of my older brother who is mentally disabled and living in one of their 2 homes. The other home is ont the market.

What steps must I take to take over for them? My objectives are to prevent the possibility of my parents falling prey to investment scams, (they have already), Make sure the payments are made to the care facility, (sometimes he refuses due to being honry). Even though they agree for me to help, I do want to set things up so that they cannot take back control and make rash decisions.

Thanks,

--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search