Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
Alimony Help
If I am paying alimony from my job, and I find out that I need to go on disability....can alimony be taken from my disability checks?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ilene Young |
Re: Alimony Help By disability, if you mean SSDI or other similar disability benefits, they are considered "income" by the Pennsylvania Support Statutes. If you are referring to alimony paid as part of a negotiated agreement, your agreement may have addressed what would happen should differences in income occur at a later time. If you are paying spousal support, and the amount is being taken from your check, you will have to check with Domestic Relations to see whether direct payment from your form of disability will take place.
Ilene Young, Esquire ~Young Law Offices ~ 215-348-5448
NOTICE As you are not a client of our firm, discussion of the above topic is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Applicability of the legal principles discussed may differ substantially in individual situations, different counties, or in different states. If you have a specific concern or legal problem, do not rely on these materials. Be sure to seek the advice of an attorney about your particular situation and facts.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


