Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
Child Custody
if a couple is not married, have two children, no legal custody agreement, can one of those parents take the children and move out of state with them?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Child Custody The quick answer to your question is yes. Only a court order prevents a parent from doing whatever they want to do. Once a court order is entered, a parent can then only move after court approval. That in turn will only be granted if the move is in the best interest of the child.
If you are the non custodial parent and are concerned about the other parent moving, you should bring a custody action immediately which will give the court jurisdiction to stop the move while the case is pending.
If you are the custodial parent, nothing prevents the move.
I trust this has been helpful but feel free to call or E-mail on a free initial basis.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


