Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
custody
How do you go about filing for custody and child support. Not married.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Audrey Buglione |
Re: custody Thank you for your question and I look forward to assisting you. Please keep in mind that I can only respond to your post and the information contained in it, as I do not know what you know unless you have put all of the information in your question. Also, there may be future facts that are as yet undetermined in your matter, that can and must leave some areas of information provided by me broad in nature. However, don't hesitate to ask for clarification if needed! That being said... If no previous order has been entered regarding child custody, you will need to file a complaint for custody with your county's prothontary office. Generally, after a complaint if filed and served upon the other parent or interested party, the court will schedule a custody conference for you and the other parent to attempt to reach an agreement regarding custody. If no agreement is reached, the custody conference officer may enter a temporary order and schedule the matter for a hearing before a judge. The exact procedure depends upon which county has jurisdiction over the matter.
As to filing for child support, this is something that you could do yourself, at least for the initial filing. Contact your local domestic relations office and they can guide you through the process. You may want an attorney to accompany you to the support conference once the date is set.
Please feel free to contact me to arrange for a confidential consultation to discuss the exact facts of your case and how they pertain to the existing law. I can be reached at (717) 798-8LAW or via email at the address below.
Audrey Buglione, Esquire
Legal Disclaimer. By requesting this information, you expressly agree to the following: The information given is not legal advice. You should not and may not rely on anything on this website as legal advice. I am neither establishing nor accepting an attorney-client relationship. The only method of gaining an attorney/client relationship with me is via a retainer and signed fee agreement, which is not offered via this site. I am providing only resources, opinion and information for you to be informed and educated about your particular rights and needs. My answer is limited to the facts presented with the understanding that you will do your proper due diligence and appropriate follow up with an attorney licensed in your state. I also am licensed to practice only in Pennsylvania, which may not be the state where this information is being provided or state whose law would apply, if any. I strive to provide quality information, but I make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained in or linked herein and its associated sites.
|
|
Read More Answered By: John Davidson |
Re: custody You would have to file a custody petition with the Court of Common Pleas in your county. For support you would file with the domestic relations office.
If you have any questions feel free to contact me. The initial consultation is free.
{John} |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


