Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/03/10, 7:09 am

Legal Question


what are grandparents legal rights to grandchildren in state of pa. mother has past (OUR DAUGHTER)

FATHER HAS CHILDREN...NOT LEGALLY MARRIED


question bubble
3/08/10, 7:19 am

Legal Answer


Grandparents rights are dependent on the relationship they have or had with the child.

Whether the child's parents were ever married may not be relevant.

What is relevant is whether there is a custody order or not. If there is then that order is controlling as to who has primary custody. If there isn't then only mother and father have standing to seek a custody order.

{John}

John Davidson

Law Office of John A. Davidson 107 North Front Street Suite 117 Harrisburg, PA 17101

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/08/10, 7:47 am

Legal Answer


Grandparents do have rights in PA, depending on what your involvement has been to date. In light of your daughter's passing, it would be worth the try to get at least visitation rights.

Paul Stacom

Law Office of Paul J. Stacom Two Penn Center, Suite 200 Philadelphia, PA 19102

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search