Pennsylvania | Family Law
9/23/10, 4:07 pm
Legal Question
My husband wants to adopt my 13 year old son he has raised him since age 3. His father is not in his life how do I do this
My husband wants to adopt my 13 year old son he has raised him since age 3. His father is not in his life how do I do this
|
Read More Answered By: Cary Hall |
First you need to petition the court to involuntarily terminate the parental rights of your son's biological father, and that process will take several months at the very least. It will certainly take longer if his father becomes more involved in the proceedings. Once successful, however, your husband can then file a petition for adoption for your son.
It would be extremely helpful to have an attorney to guide you through the courts; otherwise, you might stay stuck in the system for MUCH longer than necessary!
Best of luck to you. Feel free to contact me offline if you'd like to discuss your situation in more detail.
Cary B. Hall, Esquire Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C. 121 East Chestnut Street, Suite 205 Souderton, PA 18964 T: (267) 663-9995 F: (215) 525-4364 cbh@carybhall.com http://www.carybhall.com |
|
Read More Answered By: James Monaghan |
My office handles termination of parental rights and adoption proceedings. Please feel free to contact me at 610-279-4300. |
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
► How long after getting divorced do i have to wait before i can marry my immigrant...
► How do I go about to get gaurdian ship over my granddaughters?
► Do you need a divorce after a common law marriage in pennsylvania
► Me and my kid's father do not have a court appointed custody agreement; and until...
► If a divorce is granted in the State of Pennsylvania due to unretrievable breakdown...
► I live with my mother and step-dad and I'm extremely unhappy. I tried to move in...
► Can I make my husband pay rent after he walked out. We signed a legal contract to...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press