Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
I live in Pennsylvania. I am currently in my second marriage. I have one child from my first marriage (he is 12, and lives with me), and two adopted children with my second wife (two girls, ages 4 and 2).
My second wife and I are headed for a divorce, and I've done some preliminary research (and number crunching) and realize that I'll be paying 45% of my take home pay to my second wife for child support. Is there any adjustment that can be made to this given the fact that I have another (older child) from my first marriage who I am still responsible for? This will leave me with less than $2k/month net (actually around $1600/month net). I understand that the children need to be provided for, but I do have another child that I'm responsible for, not just the two that my second wife will be caring for.


