Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
2/17/10, 2:24 pm

Legal Question


My mothers boyfriend wants them to get married by a priest (no actual marriage license). My siblings and I have great concern over his motives as he has not proven himself faithful. If they do get "married" by a priest, what will the boyfriend be entitled to, if anything. If, God forbid, anything happened to my mother, would the boyfriend be entitled to anything or be able to contest her will?


question bubble
2/22/10, 2:40 pm

Legal Answer


To be married in Pennsylvania there needs to be a marriage license. Pennsylvania does NOT recognize Common Law marriages.

{John}

John Davidson

Law Office of John A. Davidson 107 North Front Street Suite 117 Harrisburg, PA 17101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search