Legal Question in Family Law in Pennsylvania

I received my divorce decree with nothing but a stamp of the judge name, not actually signed. Does Pennsylvania require a judges signature or is a rubber stamp of his name ....President Judge good enough? My "Original" decree has a raised seal and says it is a true and correct copy certified from the records of......county, penna. The only signature is that of the Deputy Prothonotary. Am I, in fact, divorced?? Should I contact the county branch where the papers were filed?

Asked on 10/19/11, 4:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Justin Gearty Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, it sounds like you are divorced. It isn't that odd for the judge to sign via a stamp.

Read more
10/19/11, 6:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now