Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
2/20/10, 7:35 pm

Legal Question


In the state of Pennsylvania after a legal separation has been established, will I be responsible for any debts that my spouse may accrue after the separation, up until the divorce is finalized?


question bubble
2/26/10, 6:08 am

Legal Answer


First, there is no legal separation in Pennsylvania. What you establish is a date of separation either by alleging a date of separation in the divorce complaint and/or in an affidavit of separation. After that date all assets and debt are consider post separation and not part of the marital estate. There can be issues with real estate acquired post separation but they are easily addressed.

{John}

John Davidson

Law Office of John A. Davidson 107 North Front Street Suite 117 Harrisburg, PA 17101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search