Pennsylvania  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
11/13/04, 9:51 pm

Legal Question


Counting FMLA Time

My date of surgery was 9/17. That was my regular day off. 9/18 & 9/19 were also my regular weekend days off. 9/20 was a comp day for working Labor Day; the 1st sick day I used postop was 9/21. On what day does my FMLA leave begin 9/17 or 9/21? Once my employer allowed me to return to work 4 hours/day a few days per week, I was required to use vacation time to make up the rest of my 40 hour work week; does the time I was off during these reduced work schedule weeks using vacation time count towards my FMLA leave? My employer requires vacation or personal time (not sick time) be used for doctor or PT visits, etc. Can this time be counted towards FMLA time?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search