Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Civil Demand?
Recently I was put on a Civil Demand by a store for accidently walking out without paying for an item. I would like to know what Civil Demand is, and what I am facing in the eyes of justice and the courts?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Civil Demand?/lawsuit I am a new member of the Guru network, so I just received this posting.
The situation you described appears to be a district justice lawsuit. Any one, whether business or individual, may sue any one else at any time. The only requirements are the filing fees. Of course, to be successful in any litigation in the county courts, you should be represented by an attorney.
District Justices, formally known as justices of the peace, are in essence a small claims court. The judgment amount is limited to $8,000.00, plus filing fees, except in Philadelphia where the limit is $10,000.00. At the district justice level, attorney representation is not essential. However, corporations may only be represented by one of their officers, shareholders or an attorney.
You must be given notice of a hearing date and you in turn must notify the DJ of your intention to defend. At the hearing, you will be given he opportunity to cross examine any witnesses for the Plaintiff and to present evidence yourself including your testimony. Since the Rules of Evidence apply, you should speak with an attorney about possible representation.
I trust this has been helpful, but feel free to call or e-mail with any questions.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


