Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Engagement ring and HUD dispersement
Here's a strange one. I was engaged to a woman and we broke up. She had lent me $9000 to use as a partial down payment for a house I bought in my name only. I agreed that when I sold the house I would repay her and I signed a note to that effect in front of her and her father (no notary). I have since sold the house and have a check written by the title office to her for the $9000 which was on the HUD sheet. She still has the $6400 ring I gave her and has refused to return it. I believe that in PA she is legally required to return the ring. So here we are, me with her check and her with my ring and she refuses to discuss it. I called the title office and they refused to recut the check to me. They said that what is on the HUD sheet is what stands, period. I don't really get this considering technically I sold MY house, so the money is MINE to give (or not) as far as I'm concerned. Looking for advice on this one. Thanks in advance.


