Pennsylvania  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/26/06, 11:35 pm

Legal Question


Can I post a sign on my lawn

I recently bought a car for my daughter to take back to grad school. I had to buy it in a week over her Christmas break. So I went to a local dealership that we had purchased several of our cars before. We bought a 1995 Ford Taurus with about 76000 miles. It was an ''As Is'' purchase and we paid $2,990 for it. More than it was worth, but we were in a hurry.

Within several months time, we find the transmission needs to be rebuilt and the rear brakes are leaking. Total bill will amount to close to $2,000. After I made arrangements to have it repaired in North Carolina I sent an email to the dealership's owner to tell him how disappointed I was with the purchase. He replied and asked that I call him to work something out. I did. Turns out he was offering to fix the transmission for less than the $1600 estimate I got from the repair shop in NC. Problem is I would have to drive it up here. Two problems - it is not safe to drive and my daughter needs it to get to her practicum every day.

I want to place a 3' X 3'' sign on my lawn (we live on a very busy well traveled highway) that says ''I will never buy another car from Matthews Ford''. Am I exposing myself to a posible lawsuit? Or is this perfectly legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search