Pennsylvania  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
12/09/09, 9:58 am

Legal Question


I'm going to sound like an idiot, but here are the facts...

I loaned $6500 to someone I thought was a good friend without a contract. They contacted me and said they needed it in cash for unexpected closing costs on a new home settlement. The verbal agreement was they would repay me in 10 days from their 401K. They later claimed the house deal fell through and were waiting to get the money back from the mortgage company. I have been trying to collect on my loan since May and have not been able to get anything back from this person. The person lives in another state and I have only been able to exchange emails and phone calls. The person has been very deceptive regarding repayment and currently are claiming financial hardship to further stall on repayment.

Do I have any chance of being able to recover the money in small claims court? I have emails & text messages from this person stating that loan will be repaid. Can the emails be used in court?

I am really emotionally and mentally exhausted with the stress related to getting repaid for this loan and need to know if should just give up or fight in court.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search